NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament

The NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament, also known and branded as NCAA March Madness, is a single-elimination championship played each spring at the United States, now featuring 64 college basketball teams in the Division I level of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), to determine the national championship. The tournament was the idea of Ohio State coach Harold Olsen, also Was Made in 1939 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. [1] Played during March, it has become one of the most famous annual sporting events in the United States. [citation ]
The championship teams comprise winners out of 32 Division I conferences (that receive automatic bids), and 36 teams which are awarded at-large berths. These”at-large” teams have been chosen by an NCAA selection committee, then declared in a nationally televised event on the Sunday preceding the”First Four” play-in matches, now held in Dayton, Ohio, and dubbed Choice Sunday. The 68 teams are divided into four regions and coordinated into a single-elimination”bracket”, which pre-determines, when a team wins a match, which team it will face next. Each team is”seeded”, or ranked, within its area from 1 to 16. The championship happens throughout the course of three weekends. Teams, seeded by rank, undergo a single-game elimination bracket beginning with a”first four” consisting of 8 low-seeded teams playing in 4 games for a position in the first round the Tuesday and Wednesday prior to the first round starts, a primary round consisting of 64 teams playing 32 games over the course of a week, the”Sweet Sixteen” and”Elite Eight” rounds another week and weekend, respectively, and — to the last weekend of the tournament — the”Final Four” round. The Final Four is generally played during the weekend of April. These four groups, one from every region (East, South, Midwest, and West), compete at a preselected location for the national championship.
The tournament has been at least partially televised since 1969. [2] Currentlythe games are broadcast by CBS, TBS, TNT, and truTV under the trade-name NCAA March Madness. Since 2011, all games can be found for seeing nationwide and globally. As television coverage has increased, so too has the popularity of the tournament. Currently, millions of Americans fill out a bracket,[3] attempting to correctly predict the outcome of 63 games of the tournament (not including the First Four matches ).
With 11 titles, UCLA has the record for the most NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championships; John Wooden coached UCLA to 10 of its 11 names. The University of Kentucky (UK) is next, with eight national titles. The University of North Carolina is third, with six national titles, and Duke University and Indiana University are tied for fourth with five national titles. The University of Connecticut is with four national titles. The University of Kansas (KU) & Villanova are tied for 7th with three national titles. Since 1985, once the tournament expanded to 64 teams, Duke has won five championships; North Carolina and UConn have won four; Kentucky & Villanova have three; Kansas & Florida have 2; and Arizona, Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Louisville[a], Syracuse, UCLA, UNLV, and Virginia have you.

Read more:

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *