Michigan Wolverines men’s basketball

The Michigan Wolverines men’s basketball team will be the intercollegiate men’s basketball program representing the University of Michigan. The school competes in the Big Ten Conference in Section I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The Wolverines play basketball games at the Crisler Center at Ann Arbor, Michigan. Michigan has won one NCAA Championship as well as two National Invitation Tournaments (NIT), two Big Ten Conference titles and two Big Ten Tournament titles. Additionally, it has won an NIT name and a Big Ten Tournament that were vacated due to NCAA sanctions. The team is trained by Juwan Howard.
Michigan has had 31 All-Americans. Eight of these are consensus All-Americans, that are Cazzie Russell (two times), Rickey Green, Gary Grant, Chris Webber, Trey Burke, in addition to Harry Kipke, Richard Doyle and Bennie Oosterbaan (two-times) who were retroactively selected by the Helms Foundation. Twelve All-Americans have been two-time honorees. Russell was the sole three-time All-American.
Michigan basketball players have been successful in professional basketball. Fifty-eight happen to be drafted in the National Basketball Association (NBA); twenty-six of those were first round draft picks, including both Cazzie Russell and Chris Webber that were drafted first overall. The 1990 NBA draft in which Rumeal Robinson was selected 10th, Loy Vaught was chosen 13th, also Terry Mills was selected 16th made Michigan the third of only ten schools that have had three or more players chosen in the first round of the identical draft. Five players have gone on to become NBA champions for a total of eight times and eight gamers have become NBA All-Stars a total of 18 times. Rudy Tomjanovich coached both the 1994 and 1995 NBA Finals Champions. Glen Rice is among only eight basketball players to have won a state high school championship, NCAA name and NBA championship.
During the 1990s Michigan suffered an NCAA violations scandal, described as between one of the largest amounts of illegal money in NCAA history, even when Ed Martin loaned four players a reported amount of $616,000. Due to NCAA sanctions, records from the 1992 Final Four, the 1992–93 season, and 1995–99 seasons are vacated. During this article asterisks awards, records and honors which were vacated.

Read more: conservativewatchnews.org

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *